CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:46 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: PERAZZI MX8 /TOP BARREL OCCASIONALLY DOES NOT COCK
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 1:54 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi
i am new to your interesting site and would appreciate your advice
occasionally ,but more and more often ,the top barrel does not cock and I miss the target
reason being that i have not openend the gun sufficiently widely
I have to really pull the barrel down ,to hear the "click "of the cocking
I have attached the parts diagram -
SORRY CANNOT UPLOAD /DON'T KNOW WHY !!
the reason for that ,I think ,is wear between the cocking bar -part 112-and the corresponding cam on the forend -part 307-which pushes that cocking bar back to rearm the hammers (20 years of shooting !!)
On a parts diagram ,i can see a part called "catch bolt" -322-in the forend which presses against an insert in the barrel tube .
Does this part exist in different thicknesses/ If yes ,I would replace the existenf one by a thicker one ,to reduce the gap
is that right or do you suggest something else ?
thanks for your help
Peter
Peter

Post subject: Re: PERAZZI MX8 /TOP BARREL OCCASIONALLY DOES NOT COCK
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 5:05 pm 
Crown Grade

Step one, check the cocking bar cam on the forearm iron to confirm that it's screw is tight, and the cam it's not moving around (read if you have to tighten it, make sure to loctite it as well.

Next check the cocking bar in the receiver to confirm that it's not loose in the slot. It should move freely front to back, but not a great deal side to side, nor up and down in the slot.