It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New to shotgun reloading
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:43 pm 
Utility Grade

Hey everyone, I’m new to shotshell loaders and I have a quick question, I just bought a mec sizemaster and I was wondering what I will need to get in order to load steel shot out of it?
Thanks everyone in advance.

Post subject: Re: New to shotgun reloading
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:43 pm 
Field Grade

Welcome to SGW Tdhayley!!

Required items are:
A good scale, either a balance beam or digital.
Lymans' 5th & or other current publications on shotgun reloading & reloading steel shot.

Realize that reloading steel shot is similar to reloading lead, but other than using same hulls & possibly the same primers, wads need to be rated for steel-shot & recipes for lead may not be used with steel shot.

Hodgdons' website has steel recipes, but the only powder listed for same is Universal as I recall.
Alliants' website has steel recipes as well.
Other publication with recipes can be purchased thru BPI, Precision Reloading & Bucks-run, (RSI).

Ponder what shot drops you wish to use & velocity desired. Decide which hull/s you seek to reload & what primers desired after you review various loads. Understand the difference between Euro primers & US primers.

Conduct a few searches on SGW for steel-shot. Visit "Duckhuntingchat.com".

I use a MEC 650 for 12g & a 600 for 410. I weight each powder charge on a scale, and I do the same with the steel shot. I use my MEC's to deprime, prime, seat the wad, precrimp, crimp & taper.

I'll assume that you're interest is more for hunting than for clay birds, so consider what loads you seek to use for game, reload a few & pattern to ensure the results meet your needs.

If desired, PM me & I'll address any other questions you may have assuming I know the answer

...pete

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 5:51 am 
Crown Grade

What steel payloads are you considering reloading?