ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Feb 28, 2021 7:30 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Reloading for 1951 Ithaca M37
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:32 pm 
Utility Grade

Hello all,
I just purchased a used Ponsness Warren 375 shotgun reloader from a family friend. I want to reload bismuth so I can hunt waterfowl with my great grandfathers Ithaca Model 37 Featherweight. It has a Poly Choke on it and I believe the gun is from 1951 based on the serial number. It is chambered only for 12 gauge 2 3/4 inch. I want to make sure I don't damage the gun or the choke. Is there certain powder I shouldn't use? Can I put too much weight of shot for the barrel to handle? Is bismuth actually safe for these older guns like I have read? I am BRAND NEW to reloading so any and all information you may have to share is appreciated. I don't know how to weigh out the powder, I don't know how to weigh out the shot. The reloader came with over 1,000 hulls and about 500 Windjammer wads and about 250 Claybuster wads. Do wads matter when it comes to shooting ducks? All I need are primers, powder, and shot. I will continue to educate myself through the internet. I figured this would be a great resource to use. Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Reloading for 1951 Ithaca M37
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:44 pm 

Do yourself a favor and get Lyman's #5 Handbook for shotshell reloading. It has Bismuth recipes in it
Here it is on Amazon

Let us endeavor so to live so that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.
Mark Twain

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 2:35 am 
Crown Grade

Any load that is safe for any current shotgun will be child’s play for that old 37. They are tougher than a mouth full of shingle nails!

BP

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 6:11 am 
Crown Grade

The SAAMI standards were in effect back then, and same as today. Reload ANY recipe that meets the specs, the gun will be safe, as long as the gun hasn't been abused or neglected.