ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:52 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hull identification help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:26 pm 
Field Grade

First, I’m new to shotshell reloading.

I’m looking up reloading data for Federal Top Gun shotshells.
Are these the same as “Paper Basewads”?
They sure look plastic to me, and don’t match anything in Lymans fifth edition handbook.

The only place I find the Top Gun brand listed with load data is Federal‘s website.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post subject: Re: Hull identification help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:51 pm 
Shooting Instructor
Shooting Instructor

No, those are not paper base wads.

They are not in the Lyman's because they came out after that pub was out.

I've seen two types with the plastic base wads. One has the silver Federal primer, and takes American primers for reloading. The other had a two tone brass primer that was of European size, and needed a Euro primer to fit tight. American primers can fall out.

I have loaded then using the Top Gun recipes but all were target loads and not pushing the pressure envelope. They actually went together fairly well.

NAHC Life Member
VA State Shooting Association Life Member
NSSA Referee
NSSA Level I Instructor

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:58 pm 
Diamond Grade

those are the new style.
Federal has been going through a hull crisis the last few years, but I'm pretty positive these are here to stay.

I have only done a couple of load tests with these new style hulls, and they compare fairly close to the new style white gold medal hull.
I ain't sent nuthin off for pressure testing, just that everything fit the same and crimped nicely, the steel seems some hard to me though compared to the old paper base hulls.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 8:07 pm 
Field Grade

Appears I have the American version.
The only primers I have are noble sport 686 and Winchester 209’s.