ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Mar 01, 2021 1:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Accurate charge bar/ powder drop bushing chart for MEC?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:54 pm 
Field Grade

I just got a new MEC 600 Junior mark V

This is my first attempt at reloading shotshells. Before I loaded any shells I checked and weighed the powder charge and shot drop with my metallic reloading scale.

Charge bar is labeled 118 but only drops 1.05 ounces of shot.

The powder charge bushings are all running ‘at least’ one and a half grains light with 3 different powders.

So, I need to order a new charge bar and new powder drop bushings, can anyone tell me what they will actually drop? Or does MEC want me to buy a whole bunch of them just to see? Am I doing something incorrect?

Post subject: Re: Accurate charge bar/ powder drop bushing chart for MEC?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 8:37 pm 
Diamond Grade

nope.
and yep.
and nope.

this is why we use a scale.

anyway your 1-1/8oz bar most likely drops 1-1/8oz of shot if you use number-9 chilled shot to measure it.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 8:47 pm 
Presentation Grade

Very common finding by a new shotgun loader. First, you need to make sure you are measuring the drop when the shotshell press is being used with a shell (shells for progressive) being loaded. The vibration and force applied to the press during operation shakes powder (or shot, to a lesser extent) into the bushing, packing it to hold more weight than what the factory estimates the bushing's capacity is.

Kind of a rule of thumb is that shotgun powder bushings need to be about 2 sizes larger than what the published charts show. But, it depends some on how you operate the press and what shells you are loading.