CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Remington 870 Police, Express, Marine Magnum
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:54 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi there, I am new to this site so this is my first time posting on here. I am going to buy my first shotgun soon and I intend to get one thats gona outlast me. It will be mostly for home defense and the occasional trip to the range. I have narrowed my choice down to 3 different models of the Remington 870. First: the 870 express 7 round with 18" barrel, Second: 870 Marine Magnum 7 round 18" barrel, Last: the 870 Police 5 shot with 18" barrel. I have read about the differnt qualities of the 870 Police so I am probably going to spend the extra $250-300 for this gun because I want top of the line quality and I want it to last a long time. My question is "Is there a differnce between the 870 Police and the 870 Police MAGNUM?" I have seen it written both ways on the side of the guns receivers. I didnt know if there is sumthing more to the MAGNUM or if they are just stamped different sometime. If anyone knows something about this could you please help me out? THANKS

Post subject: Re: Remington 870 Police, Express, Marine Magnum
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 3:30 am 
ID & Value Expert
ID & Value Expert

Welcome to SW!

You seem to want a home defense shotgun. Any Remington M870 will fit that need and will probably last both you and your kids a lifetime. However, an 18 inch barreled gun will not be the best choice for a gun to hunt with or shoot targets with.

MAGNUM in a M870 Express, Marine Magnum or Police means that it has a 3" chamber.

In the real world, if you are wanting a M870 to do many things, I'd get a 26" barreled Express ( all of these are 3" magnums) with the standard 5 shot configuration.

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:22 am 
Crown Grade