ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:58 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]



Nice Shot Inc.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: loose shot.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:59 am 
Crown Grade

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:06 am
Posts: 3728
Location: UK, England, Britain
where can i get loose shot for handloading?

is there a maximum speed i should be trying to avoid? as its soft as lead, will i get any deformed shot upon firing?




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:13 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:23 pm
Posts: 12380
Location: MO
Surely you mean "bagged shot", right?

And yes, you get deformed shot right from the outset at firing.

Less with "Magnum", high antimony shot as compared to closer to pure lead, (soft), shot. The antimony percentage determines the hardness, but all lead shot is going to deform some on "set-back" at ignition. More at the bottom of the shot column than close to the top.

If you look at "re-cycled" shot, it all has various dents in the surface. They didn't get that way from "falling gently" out of the sky, after running out of steam to stay airborne. They got that way from the set-back.

Yes, a higher speed load does cause a little more deformation, but it's usually not a major consideration in the loading set up.

_________________
The ONE, "Outsider" that we can trust!
Ted Cruz!

Remember which party got us to where we are, (along with too many RINOs)!
VOTE!

NRA Benefactor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:41 pm 
Tournament Grade

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 137
cookoff013 wrote:
where can i get loose shot for handloading?

is there a maximum speed i should be trying to avoid? as its soft as lead, will i get any deformed shot upon firing?


Nice Shot is 14~16 Brinell hardness, lead is 11~13. You'll still see dimples in the shot from set-back when fired. Nice Shot is a Tin, Tungsten , Iron blend.

High velocity loads aren't needed or necessary. 1300 FPS is the highest we use in the factory ammo. Nice Shot does have a higher chamber pressure than a like load in lead. So remember to stay 1500 PSI below max load for your gauge. ( Lead loading data )

Bulk shot is available here: http://www.ecotungsten.com/online-store.html
Loaded Ammunition here: http://store.fastcommerce.com/niceshot
Precision Reloading has been working on loading data for Nice Shot: http://precisionreloading.com/

Bear with me as I tune up this Forum!

_________________
The essence of freedom is the proper limitation of government.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:10 am 
Crown Grade

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:06 am
Posts: 3728
Location: UK, England, Britain
thanks nice shot, and jugchoke.

it just i had a chat with some guy about loading sinter tungsten matrix, he recomeneded using alliant steel, and loaded up 2oz of TM and shot it, it fused together upon firing, forming a semi solid slug, it put a hole in his pattern plate.

is it recomended to have a full shotcup? or open petal / fibre load?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:27 pm 
Tournament Grade

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 137
We have been using a petal wad like the SP-12 for example. Why 2 ounces ? Do not use loading data from other shots thinking it will compare, it doesn't. Lead is the closest to Nice Shot but stay 1500 PSI lower than the max for that gauge. TM and Nice Shot are to different animals, do not compare one from the other.

_________________
The essence of freedom is the proper limitation of government.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:57 am 
Crown Grade

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:06 am
Posts: 3728
Location: UK, England, Britain
i was just pointing out there are idiots out there. 2oz is way too much.

could i use the same data for itx?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: loose shot.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:51 am 
Tournament Grade

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 137
cookoff013 wrote:
could i use the same data for itx?




No. If you need more info on a special load, contact the tech line or send an email to Precision Reloading.
I'm not sure how close there are to having the printed data available yet.
Dan



_________________
The essence of freedom is the proper limitation of government.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Registered users: 98052, ActionHank, Bing [Bot], Bullittshooter, cookoff013, DooFighter, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], HusqvarnaSweden, johnnie g, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mark Pfeifer, May, shotgunmanny, wdavis8679


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group    - DMCA Notice