It is currently Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:54 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Sporting Clays Gun Vs. Trap Gun
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:52 pm 
Field Grade

I have recently gotten into clay sports as a teenager. I am lucky enough to be born into a big family of clay shooters. I had been shooting trap for a few months I was and still am hooked, so i bought a citori trap model, 1985 for $1245. I thought trap would be my only love until I shot my first 100 sporting clays today with my uncle, I sure did have fun! As of right now, i think i might like it more than trap. So i was wondering, what are the differences between a trap gun and a sporting clays gun? i know trap guns shoot a little high as far as POI, about 70/30, should a sporting clays gun shoot high? dead on? Could i just slap some other choke tubes on my citori and be done with it? like a skeet choke or something close to it? should a sporting slays gun be shorter than my 30" barrel citori? lighter than the Estimated 9 lbs?

Post subject: Re: Sporting Clays Gun Vs. Trap Gun
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:54 pm 
Presentation Grade

I suggest patterning the gun to see how high it shoots. I have an XT which shoots about 60/40, which is fine for sporting clays. You will want more open chokes. I shoot skeet and IC.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:58 pm 
Field Grade

i knew for sure that i would need looser chokes but was just wandering if there was anything else that needed changing. i bought my citori and it came with no other chokes than the ones in it which are Full and IM, which are VERY tight for sprting clays, but i think i shot about a 60 something today with those in at my first ever sporting clays shoot so i think thats pretty good.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:01 pm 
Field Grade