It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 2:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: How To Tell Where You Are Missing
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:20 pm 
Field Grade

Okay, I have a pretty stupid and maybe obvious question.

I've been shooting clays for about 3 years now. I've shot skeet, sporting clays, and 5-Stand. I'm getting better, and listen to as many experienced shooters as I can.

One thing I cannot do, that I think is critical to improving, is tell where I'm missing. I know the clay didn't break, but how do I know if I was behind it, over top, under, etc.

I have other shooters at the field say, "You were over top that one". Okay, I don't doubt that, but how do you know? I can't see hundreds of tiny pellets traveling at over 1,000 fps.

Can people really see that?

All I see is the wadding from the shell sometimes, and that certainly is not an indicator of where I've missed.

Any tips greatly appreciated.

Post subject: Re: How To Tell Where You Are Missing
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:26 pm 
Crown Grade

Evidently some people can, because they tell me the same thing. I've tried, I cannot see it, but then again, I can barely focus on the bird most of the time. My eyes are not good at this point, but I truthfully don't know how they see where the miss is.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:16 am 
Crown Grade

Some people can see where the gun is pointing even when not standing directly behind the gun. It's a bit like shooting from the hip; not especially difficult once you get the knack.