CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: How affordable is hunting in England (and the rest of UK)?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:06 am 
Presentation Grade

Dear residents of this board,
(I feel like a bit of introduction is appropriate here. I'm an assistant professor of philology (and teacher of English), from Samara, Russia. I hunt, ducks and hares mostly, with my two sbs shotguns, a workhorse 16 or an almost-fancy 12, and my wife, who has a shotgun of her own, and makes the best possible companion).
I have a question about affordability of hunting in England (or elswhere in the UK, for that matter). I don't mean fancy stuff like dirven pheasants every Tuesday. Just a simple "go out shoot something" (waterfowl, rabbits, snipe or woodcock over a bird dog, something like that). I've read some Brittish shooting magazines online, but they somehow make it sound that hunting in the UK is an "if you have to ask how much it costs you can't afford it" thing.
Putting it in a closer context - let's say I'm an a$$.prof. in your average university. Wife, child, single income. Can I hope to do any hunting? How hard is it going to be, financially and otherwise, on a scale from from 100 to 0, like "anytime" = 100, "impossible" = 0, with "Can be done", "Can be done, but...", "Well, if you absolutely", etc., in between.
What if we figure a seond income into the equation?
And, do you have to be a citizen of the country to be able to own and use a shotgun?
I'd really appreciate your answers, they will be a lot of help in making a very important decision. Life without at least 3 or for hunts a year doesn't sound very exciting to me.
Thank you.

P.S. I know a number of people from the UK, but there's not one of them who ever saw a shotgun. That's why I'm asking online.

Post subject: Re: How affordable is hunting in England (and the rest of UK
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:16 am 
Presentation Grade