CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:18 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is it worth it? Custom SX3 Work. Angle Porting
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:36 pm 
Utility Grade

I am concidering sending my new Super X3 to Angle Porting for some work. I shoot sporting clays about 1-2 times per week. I am new to the sport. But I am addicted. I love the gun the way it shoots now. But I am concidering angle porting, trigger work, action polishing, and forcing cone work? Let me know what you guys think. Is it worth it? I was quoted about $280 for all the work. And about 1 week turn around.....

Post subject: re: Is it worth it? Custom SX3 Work. Angle Porting
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:03 pm 
Crown Grade

I would suggest that you not port/angle port any shotgun! There is more downside than up.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:40 pm 
Shotgun Expert
Shotgun Expert

I sure wouldn't, in fact they couldn't pay me $280 for the work. Learn the gun, shoot it only and any problems you think it might have, will go away.

Now, if the trigger has something like an 8# pull, or is rough, I might consider taking it back to no less than 4#, more like 4.5#.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:18 pm 

Welcome to SGW. I like TexasTon, would not have any of the work done on any of my auto's. The SX2/SX3's have a pretty decent trrigger right out of the box. Then again I don't notice the trigger pull of a shotgun like I do a rifle.

If you are having cycling issues then the action polishing might be worth while. If not I would just leave it.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:41 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I agree....in 98 I bought an Ballistics (angle port) see-what-I'm-saying 390 package...the works. I still have it, its still a great gun, and would have great gun for a lot less if I just bought one stock.

Cheers

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:00 am 
Diamond Grade

cf7go - if you like journeys, then go ahead.