ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New Mossberg 500-Forend Suggestions
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:00 pm 
Utility Grade

I just recently purchased a Mossberg 500 and so far I am very pleased with the shotgun. I will primarily be using this gun for home defense, as I have a Remington Wingmaster that I use for bird hunting. I also purchased the ATI adjustable stock for the shotgun and again so far I am pleased with the stock. I like the fact that it is adjustable, both my girlfriend and I can use the shotgun in case of an emergency. I am looking for a forend to complete the shotgun, I am specifically looking for a forend with an attached flashlight or a forend with some kind of picatinny rail which I can mount a flashlight. Any suggestions? comments?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Post subject: Re: New Mossberg 500-Forend Suggestions
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:30 pm 
Presentation Grade

I have a fore end that you can put a light on with the rails but I dont use it because it move back and hits my fingers when the gun is fired. I have heard that even the Surefire unit can have that problem. I now clamp a light to my barrel so it stays in one place.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:22 pm 
Field Grade

Leapers makes one that is pretty heavy duty. All aluminum too.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:33 pm 
Tournament Grade

Im with Cmug with wanting the light upfront on the barrel / mag tube.
No way id want a sharp metal edge by my / girlfriends finger when firing a 00 or slug.
Id go with a Hogue forend. Cheap, And from pictures looks to have a nice "gritty" grip.

How sturdy is that stock? I wanted something adjustable as well, But then was sold on a Knoxx because of the Recoil reduction. I wanted to do it to my 835, because barrels are cheaper [18"] but decided id just chop my winchester 1300 and keep it primarily HD.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:53 pm 
Tournament Grade