ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Fri Jan 22, 2021 11:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New to Shooting - Buying First Gun - Headache from O/U?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:23 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi there - I am glad to have found this site! I have a question before I buy my first shotgun and I hope you can help.

I have been shooting handguns for several years, but am new to Shotgun Shooting and am LOVING IT! My husband and I joined a local club about a month ago - we are shooting Sporting Clays 2-3 times a week. I have been renting a gun from the club (or graciously shooting guns offered to me by club members) to get a feel before I make the BIG PURCHASE. I have shot both O/U and semi's. So far I have shot - Syren Caesar Guerini, Beretta Silver Pigeon 1, Beretta 690, Browning Citori 725, Remington 3200, Fabarms Semi, Beretta A400 multi-target, A400 Xplor, A400 excel.

I have read the pros and cons of Semi-Autos and O/U and understand that O/U has some definite benefits. I am shooting 12 gauge only and will buy a 12 gauge gun. I am handling the recoil fine on my shoulder on both types of gun and use a light load (1oz). But I have a very strange side effect from SOME O/U guns. Within minutes of firing some of the O/U guns, I get a raging headache. It has not happened every time but at least 80% of the time. Does not happen with the semi A400 or Fabarms.

I am still new and learning my mount and technique - is this a function of improper mount, improper fit - or could it just be how the O/U recoil affects me?

We will be purchasing guns soon. I would really prefer to buy an O/U. If my problem is mount or technique - I can learn to correct that and buy an O/U. If however, this is a common occurrence in some people with O/U and recoil - then I don't want to spend thousands of $ on a gun that I will never be able to shoot and will instead opt for a semi.