ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:03 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 163 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
 Post subject: Why Not A Semi Auto For Sporting Clays?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:05 pm 
Crown Grade

I am not a newbie to shotgun shooting or much else in life. However, it occurs to me that all the top Sporting Clays shooters gravitate to an O/U shotgun. I realize that a break open gun is almost mandated due to the nature of such games as Int Trap, but not SC.

Yet I read herein that many if not most, tend to shoot the same choke out of both barrels. If so, that seems to negate the principle advantage of a two barrel gun. There are also numerous threads I have read where there are problems with point of impact VS point of aim issues with even some very high quality O/U guns.

SC shooters are all shooting quite long barrels for additional sighting plane and in some cases even 34 inch. But it is a well known fact that a semi auto with just 30 inch barrels equals the overall length of an O/Us with 34 inch barrels.

So my question is why the vast majority of all SC shooters don't use a quality semi auto? The ability to have an exact duplicate as a back up with a semi auto is much less of an investment than to have a back up O/U that is identical. In most cases it can be done for less than one quality O/U. Plus, the POI issue is seldom encountered with a semi auto and if needed, can usually be corrected quite easily.

For these and other reasons, why do more SC shooters not use the semi auto as their primary choice? Is it balance, handling, pride of ownership, or maybe some are trying to duplicate what the pros use?

I am just curious and not trying to start a fire fight. Thanks for any input.

Post subject: Re: Why Not A Semi Auto For Sporting Clays?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:22 pm 
Diamond Grade