ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:30 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: deteriorating vision... alas age
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:00 pm 
Tournament Grade

I wanted to see if anyone had similar experiences or input on getting the best out of aging eyes on the sporting clays field.

I am coming up on 7 decades in age (hard for me to believe that) and my vision isn't bad but it isn't perfect. I have always been plagued with a lot of "floaters" in my eyes and the doctors have always said sorta "gee you have a lot of floaters." To which I respond "what can I do about them". The response is always... "nothing". So we start with that. I never miss an eye doc appointment.

Years ago I used to fly for a living and even with 20/20 vision it used to strike me that my crew mate could usually spot traffic long before I could. Weird.

My vision can be corrected and I do wear a right contact lens to shoot which corrects my R eye to better than my L eye to offset a left eye dominance tendency, but I do not have any current cross dominance problems, I shoot now happily with both eyes open. Uncorrected I have sort of a natural mono-vision: my R eye works great for close up vision and the L eye works for distance - fine for everything I do BUT shooting.

I typically shoot with clear lenses as I have to balance getting enough light into my eyes to see the target well, and clear lenses have been that compromise for the last several years. I've *thought* I generally see worse with a colored lens.

Even though my vision is a bit weak I can score well with almost any presentation on the field I can see (long or short, fast or slow) that isn't an "eye test" where I just can't see the the target. I see 20/20, but I can miss stuff because of light and contrast I'm guessing the issue is.

There are three situations I have found that I really struggle with seeing the targets.