ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:27 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Let’s talk sub gauge tubes
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:21 am 
Tournament Grade

Like it says let’s talk tubes. What is your preference for chokes in the carrier/12ga barrel? I am just getting into this side and would like to hear some opinions.

Post subject: Re: Let’s talk sub gauge tubes
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:25 am 
Crown Grade

Carrier barrels don't have chokes. The tubes inserted into them do. Carrier barrels are slimmed down to reduce weight and carry your tubes. Once converted to a carrier barrel that barrel can never be used for anything else. The purpose of carrier barrels is to make your gun as close as possible to the same feel as your 12 gauge gun when using tubes. So, if you still wish to shoot 12 gauge and sub gauge you will need a 12 gauge barrel, carrier barrel and tubes. Big investment.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:44 am 
Limited Edition

How about Sidekicks? I've thought about getting some in 28 for my K80. Anyone have opinions about those?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:53 am 
Tournament Grade

Lt0026 thanks for the info on carrier barrels I did not realize that there were no chokes. So if using your standard barrel what chokes would be better open or tight?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 8:03 am 
Presentation Grade

hoytshooter wrote:
Lt0026 thanks for the info on carrier barrels I did not realize that there were no chokes. So if using your standard barrel what chokes would be better open or tight?

Open. That way, if you're a skeet shooter, you won't have to change chokes to shoot a 12 gauge event.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 8:28 am 
Crown Grade