It is currently Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:26 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: What a difference a shell makes.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:01 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Today I ran out of my normal shells so, I opened up a couple boxes I've had laying around. These were loaded with steel shot instead of lead. I've never used steel before.

They were Rio, 2 3/4", 1oz, steel, 1325FPS loads.

The first round was just abysmal. I couldn't figure out what was wrong. Took the whole round, but the POI with these was at least 2' lower than I'm used to.

I raised my comb for the next round and it was much better.

I had no idea, or at least don't understand why, that these would change the POI that much. Live and learn. Don't think I'll be using steel anymore.

“Endeavor to clear your mind of can't.” - Francis P. Church

Col 4:6
Hate the ads? Become a Bonus Member, click here.

Post subject: Re: What a difference a shell makes.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:10 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Waterfowl hunters learned this lesson years ago. We were forced by law to quite using lead shot and convert to steel. The first ammo available was slow with slow poor performance. Had a hard time hitting and killing ducks past 35 yards. Steel loads have vastly improved in performance over the last decade, although these changes had to be learned and relearned a faster delivery.

Today, I wouldn't go back to lead loads for waterfowl, but it was a frustrating journey. The sport lost a lot of lifetime duck hunters to the frustration.

Maltz

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:23 am 
Crown Grade

I can't think of any good explanation as to why steel would shoot that much lower than lead. I know that in a .44 magnum revolver, 240 grain bullets have a much higher point of impact than 180 grain bullets, that's because the 240 grain bullet spends more time in the barrel as the recoil lifts the barrel.
But, one ounce is one ounce whether it's steel or lead.