CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 10 gauge, best for hunting big game?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:43 am 
Utility Grade

Ive got my heart set on a 10 gauge shotgun. Does anybody have any opinions/ideas on which 10 gauge is the best? Id also like some recommendations on ammo types for hunting elk, bear and other big game. Im really new to all of this and any ideas on which 10 gauge shotgun and ammo match would be the best for pure stopping power would be greatly appreciated. All opinions welcome.

Note: Id like either pump or semi-auto action

thanks,
Curly Fry

Post subject: re: 10 gauge, best for hunting big game?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:40 am 
Crown Grade

Browning makes their BPS pump, which I suspect is a fine shotgun, seeing as to how it's the only pump 10 Gauge on the market. Remington makes their SP-10, a gun which used to be an Ithaca design. Remington makes the SP-10 with a rifle sighted barrel designed for turkey hunting, but I don't see why you couldn't have a choke tube bored out to IC or so and then be able to shoot Federal's monster 2 1/4 (I think) oz slug.

BT

Cole

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:30 am 
Utility Grade

So the sp-10 looks pretty good to me:

http://www.remingtonpro.com/item/37267_ ... tguns.aspx

But with what kind of ammunition?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:52 pm 
Crown Grade

The 10 Gauge slubs (which only weight 1 3/4 oz :shock: ) near the botom of this page: http://www.federalpremium.com/ballistic ... arm=5&s1=1 , and perhaps the buckshot that resides at the top os this page: http://www.federalpremium.com/ballistic ... arm=5&s1=1

BT

Cole

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:26 pm 
Utility Grade

will the 1 3/4 ounce slugs have enough power to take down a black bear?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:12 pm 
Crown Grade

Yeah, probably way overkill too. As long as you're within 100 yards I'd say you're good.

BT

Cole