CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:08 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Downrange 12 ga Wads
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:21 pm 
Field Grade

Need a little help understanding the uses for various Downrange 12 ga 1 oz wads.

I have been using Claybuster CB1100-12 Pink 1oz wads for about 5 yrs in both STS and AA hulls, loading Hodgdon Clays in a MEC 9000H with either a #32 (STS) or a #33 Bushing (AA).
I have always been somewhat dissatisfied with the 1-3% puffed up Crimps on the STSs or the small hole in the middle of the crimp on the AAs. I recently had an opportunity to buy out a reloader who had stopped shooting. In his odd array of materials were some old Windjammer wads, white 1 1/8 oz and yellow 1 oz. After reloading several thousand of them I decided that I liked the results better than the Claybusters. I was getting better, more consistent crimps. I believe that I am also getting less plastic fouling in my chokes.

My local supplier carries Downrange Products which I want to start using. But the Downrange product line is a bit confusing. Again, I will be using STS & AA hulls in 1 oz loads. What are the different considerations and uses of the following three Downrange wads: 1) XL-1 Purple 2) XL-1 Neon Green 3) DRA121 Pink. I understand that the Neon Green is designed as a 1 1/8 op wad but am told that it is also excellent in 1 oz AA hulls? I don't mind carrying inventory in two different wads if one or the other is superior in STS or AAs.

ALSO, I have a bunch of Kemen hulls which I might decide to reload. What Downrange wad would be appropriate in that hull ?

Who has used the wads and what can you advise me on?

Charlie Nash

Post subject: re: Downrange 12 ga Wads
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:34 pm 
Tournament Grade