CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:25 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Light Loads vs. Heavy Loads
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:35 pm 
Tournament Grade

This is probably a really stupid question, but I'm a noob when it comes to shotguns. What is the difference between light loads and heavy loads? Also, would one be better for trap/skeet? I'm by no means a pro, I just enjoy going out and having some fun shooting with friends so I don't need any top of the line ammo, but I also don't want to be handicapped using the wrong ammo. Thanks!

Post subject: re: Light Loads vs. Heavy Loads
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:43 pm 
Limited Edition

Light loads would be from the range 7 1/2 to 9. These loads are the ones used for clay sports. As you go lower in number the loads get heavier. The heavier a load is, the bigger each individual pellet is. So a number 9 load will have a couple hundred very little pellets, and the heavy loads like buckshot will have 8 - 16 very big pellets.

For skeet you usually want to use #9 as most of your targets are very close.

The farther your target gets from you the heavier the load you want.

Most trap shooters prefer #8 or #7 and 1/2.

Just remember when shooting clays it is usually against club rules to shoot anything heavier than a 7 and 1/2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:48 pm 
Tournament Grade

Thanks for the quick reply. I was at BassPro today and I saw both but I wasn't sure the difference. I didn't realize it was the size of the shot, I thought it might have something to do with the amount of powder or something else. So thanks for clearing that up!

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:53 pm 
Crown Grade

you can get both light and heavy target loads for clay targets, in the same size shot.....light loads are 2-3/4 dram equivalent, heavy ones are 3 or 3-1/4 dram equivalent.....the boxes will usually say

Post subject: Re: re: Light Loads vs. Heavy Loads