CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: History of the Semi-Auto Shotgun
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 8:50 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

semi-auto history
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm relatively new to the shooting sports. I got myself a GOSA (gas-operated semi automatic) and I get out with it about once a week.

I'm curious about the history and development of this style of gun. I assume that recoil operated semi's have been around much longer, and at some point, someone invented the GOSA.... then at some later point I suspect the GOSA was perfected (or improved), which accounts for its popularity today.

Anyone got the scoop on this? Are my assumptions correct? When (approximately) did the various semi's go into production?

Thanks for the education!

RemingtonII
Frequent SW Visitor
(9/12/02 3:17:16 pm)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't know about gas operated, but I can tell you that the Browning A-5 came into production in Belgium in 1903. By 1904 import duties were slapped on weapons imports, and Browning also assigned production rights to Remington and the gun became the Remington M-11 and production started in 1905, and ran for forty years.

Later, Savage, also, got production rights. When the patents ran out, other manufacturers used the design.