CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:07 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is buying a used 1974 Citori worth it?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:59 pm 
Utility Grade

OK guys,

I am new to this forum. I am buying my first O/U. I found a Citori manufactured in 1974, per serial number, that looks to be in excellent condition. It's in my price range, but how much life is left in this gun? Am I better of purchasing a newer o/u for less than $1250? I am new to the sport so hopefully I'll be using whatever gun I buy for years and for thousands of rounds. Thank you.

Bernie S.

Post subject: re: Is buying a used 1974 Citori worth it?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:34 pm 
Field Grade

Older stuff a lot of times is just as good, if not BETTER than the brand new stuff. Over the years with the raising costs of manufacturing company's like to cut corners to save money. I'm not the most knowledgeble about the Citori in particular because I don't own one(oh but I'd love to!), but I'd have no problem buying an old one I'll tell you that! It's up to you, and I am by no means saying that I'm an expert, but if it's in good shape and you like it... I don't see any reason not to.

For example of cost cutting just look up the difference between the Pre-64 Remington 700's and the new ones. Or the new Ruger Blackhawks and Vaquero's versus the old ones, not nearly as tough. And the fact that most Remington's nowadays are made in Japan or Russia, etc. Yuk, give me American made please. I know some Brownings are Japanese made, I don't know about the Citori. Anyway, sorry to ramble. Good luck, just wanted to ad my .02 cents.

PS. welcome to the boards, albeit from another newbie!