CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 6:56 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Winchester 1400 Mk 2 Semi-auto questions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:18 pm 
Utility Grade

Hello everyone.

I recently acquired a shotgun from my dad.It's a Winchester 1400 MK 2 semi-auto 12 gauge,this is my first gun in the higher gauges,but i have some experience with higher caliber and high gauges.He said that this shotgun is most likely over 35 years old(he bought it not too long before getting drafted to Vietnam)It is in pretty good shape,for not being fired in over 25 years.So i have quite a few questions.

Is this gun worth it/right for a teenager starting into higher gauged shotguns?

Should I invest into a choke for skeet and shooting the odd pumpkin(and perhaps hunting,such as quail,but I haven't started hunting yet)?

Is there a particular way i have to field strip/clean this firearm?(this would be my first semi-auto firearm)

Any certain shells i should use?

Any certain precautions i should take cleaning,and firing it?

Thanks for the help.
-Mike

Post subject: re: Winchester 1400 Mk 2 Semi-auto questions
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:45 am 
Crown Grade

Owners manual for a winchester model 1400 auto loading shotgun. Save to hard drive and/or print it out.
will give info on cleaning and operation.

http://stevespages.com/pdf/winchester_1 ... hester.pdf

{hs#

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:03 pm 
Utility Grade

Thank you so much.
Does anyone have a first hand account of the gun?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:02 pm 
Limited Edition

Proud owner here. One thing the manual will NOT tell you is that if you remove the magazine spring for cleaning and such is that it needs to go back in the same way it came out. Don't flip it around. Don't ask me how I know this!

Woody

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:08 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*