CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:30 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Winchester 1300 XTR Questions
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 5:20 am 
So I've been shooting for a few years now, and finally made a shotgun purchase. I'd been looking at the Browning and Winchester pumps, and after going into a local store to buy a new recoil spring for my 1911, I browsed the used rack and found an absolutely gorgeous Winchester 1300 XTR pump with a 26" barrel, exactly what I'd been wanting. And the best part is that the guy that had it on consignment kept dropping the price, so I picked it up for $150 out the door. It has a beautiful glossy walnut stock and a 99% finish. There's one little ding in the stock, but I'm going to steam it out. It also has a jewelled bolt and the action is very smooth, although I'm going to polish the trigger just a bit. It says "Winchester Repeating Arms" on the grip cap and plastic butt plate (which, as my bruised shoulder is telling me, is going to be replaced with a Decelerator recoil pad next week).

At any rate, I can't find much info about this particular gun (the XTR series.) The receiver is alloy (won't take cold blue). Also (forgive my ignorance here), it says "IMP CYL" on the barrel, but came with a screw-in Full choke. Does this mean the unchoked barrel is Improved Cylinder, or does it mean that's the original choke it was supposed to come with? If it means that's what the unchoked barrel is, I was under the impression that shooting a threaded barrel without a choke would damage the choke threads. After looking at photos of the current WinChoke tubes, I believe this gun predates them (it has threads right under the muzzle instead of an inch or two inside the barrel.)