CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: I want to learn how to reload shotgun shells
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:38 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi All,
I've been reloading since 1976, but only for metalic cartridges, rifle, and handgun. Im going to start trap shooting and would like to load shotgun shells, the only problem is I've never loaded shotgun shells. Is it anything like loading metalic cartridges, or is it completely different? Any info, advice, what it's gonna take to get into shotgun shell reloading ect ect would be greatly apriciated. I do have an RCBS electronic powder measure, and scale, can I use that?
Thanks,
Paul :)

Post subject: re: I want to learn how to reload shotgun shells
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:48 pm 
Presentation Grade

If you already have a scale you are off to a good start. Next you will need a loader and a Lyman 5th Edition shot shell reloading manual. If you Google that you should find one in a matter of seconds.

Read the manual and become familiar with the terminology and the various components that make up a shotgun shell. Once you do that Google MEC reloaders. Find the lowest price for a new machine and buy one. Again, read the manual to understand how it works. By the way, the reason I suggested the MEC machine is that I have 4 of them and they are very well made, pieces of equipment. There are several other reloaders on the market to chose from if you like a pricier piece of equipment.

Using the Lyman manual, determine which hulls you have and then buy components for that hull using the information in the book. Whatever you do don't try making up your own loads because the possibility of injuring yourself or others is very high and you would almost certainly lose a gun in the process.