CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: how to aim a shotgun
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:37 am 
Utility Grade

Hello
I am new to shotgunning and the forum. Have been reading and see that the recommended method of aiming is to "look at the target", apparently not to line up with the bead sight. Is there a reason for this? Is there more to the technique than the wording implies? Is it a speed thing for shooting birds/clays?

Post subject: Re: how to aim a shotgun
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:51 am 
Field Grade

You should be already in alignment with the shoulder, barrel, and sight and just look past the sight at your target. don't focus on the sights just the target, hope that helps.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:51 am 
Crown Grade

You don't really "aim" a shotgun like you would a rifle.

In general, you have your left hand on the forend and you can have your left index finger pointing along the barrel. When you see your target you mount the gun, point at the target with your left index finger and pull the trigger.

That's the gist of it.

Now, this will work very well if you have the proper stance, proper gun fit and consistent and proper mount, swing and follow-thru!

But basically you do not aim the gun.

Possibly the best explanation of all this is in Bruce Bowlen's book The Orvis Wing-Shooting Handbook. (cheap from Amazon) The book is quite short, very well illustrated and presents the "English" or "modified Churchill" technique that is taught at the Orvis schools.

Your question is a very good one and if you're new to shotguns asking it now will prevent you from forming bad muscle habits. It also forces you to learn proper mount and that forces you get your gun to fit properly and then everything falls into place!

No, the technique is not a "speed thing" (altho it does let you point the gun quickly) but rather is a "natural" method of shooting.