CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:04 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Repy To The Slam Firing Of A 870 Wingmaster
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:15 am 
Presentation Grade

I am not here to bash Remington as many that read my post think I am.
I own a Remington 12 Gauge 11-87 Premier, a Remington 12 Gauge 1100 Classic Field and a Remington 750 Woodsmaster Rifle in .308 Winchester Caliber, all bought new.
I love the three of them and would never sell them.
I was just comparing my old Ithaca's with my new 12 Gauge 870 Wingmaster.
I am not trying to be a smart a$$ writing this post, and maybe I could learn something as I am not an expert on pump action shotguns.
Why did Winchester put this feature on their Model 12s for many years, Ithaca did on their Model 37s for many years if there was no need for it. I also read that Remington 870's made in the 1950's had this feature.
I have talked to Police Officers, Prison Guards and people in the military that have used the old models that slam fired and they all say the same thing. They should have never taken that option off the gun.
Is it the anti-gun people or the liberal people in Washington that had this feature taken off shotguns, or was it a cost cutting idea by the manufactures?
I like that option on a pump shotgun and would have never bought a new Wingmaster or any other manufacture's brand if they didn't have it. I know now.
As far as beating the hell out of a shotgun by slam firing it, I don't think it hurts the gun at all as I have been told it was made for that purpose, and the way I do it maybe once or twice a year with less than 10 rounds I think my shotguns will outlast my great grand kids.
I just like that option on a shotgun and I am entiled to my opinion as this is still a free country and you can express your views.
No bashing of Remington as I think they are a great company, but all companys sometime need to know what people think.
Regards,
Fred