CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:14 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ponsness Warren 375C: Need help with final crimp (photos)
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:38 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi everybody-

This is my first post on Shotgunworld. I had a look around and it seems like a pretty friendly and knowlegable group here.

I was hoping you can help with a new-to-me P&W 375C I picked up used. I have been loading for shotgun, rifle, and pistol for over 15 years, but this one has me stumped.

I need some assistance adjusting the crimp stage of my 2 3/4" 12 ga. loads on a P&W 375C. I think some pictures will help illustrate my troubles.

I tried following the instructions in the manual and made some progress in adjusting the final crimp (going from left to right), but I am afraid they still have a large hole in the center that can leak shot. Also, the finished shells are tall. (red factory AA round for comparison)

Close up of reload on left and a factory round for comparison on the right.

The shells are a little proud and sticking out of the top of the seater more than I would like. From what I understand, they are suppose to be flush with the top and you are suppose to be able to place a straight edge on top of the die and not have it touch the shell. This is definitely not the case and I can't seem to figure out how to get it below the rim despite many different adjustments.
Again for comparison, I pressed a loaded factory AA round into the die (red shell). You clearly see that it is significantly lower than my attempts. I cannot seem to get the crimp below the rim of the sizing die. I measured the O.A.L. of the loaded rounds. The factory round is 0.030" to 0.045" shorter than my better looking crimp attempts.

I know this load combination works and can produce great looking shells because I have used it for years with a Hornady/Pacific 366 Auto (flooded and ruined).

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks!