CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Looking for a used Semi-auto shotgun? Already own rem 870.
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:12 pm 
Utility Grade

Hey all,
First post here on shotgun world, but I have been an avid reader these past few months...
Went trap shooting with my girlfriend and her dad a while back and fell in love with the sport.
After a few months I bought a relatively inexpensive Remington 870 express pump action 12 guage...I really enjoy using this gun--but I can't help comparing it to shooting automatics--which I have really liked (a barretta and a remington). I am a poor college student but would be willing to spend around $500 for a really nice used semi-auto shotgun....I was thinking about the Remington 1100 12 or 20 guage, with a 28 barrel?? But if you all have any other suggestions with this price range I would really appreciate it....moreover, I have considered going to a gun show for this--is this a good idea--or cabellas has a nice selection of used guns...Also, as a disclaimer--I am certainly aware of the fit of the gun and how it should be allinged with how it fits me....and yes price is a concern...for now at least.
Eventually I would like to use the gun for upland/small game as well as trap in the great state of wisconsin!
Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Looking for a used Semi-auto shotgun? Already own rem 870.
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:43 pm 
Tournament Grade

First off, welcome to SGW!
You made an excellent decision by choosing the 870 Express. Keep in mind that this gun will do everything you are asking your future semi-automatic to do. And, that's a good thing!