CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:58 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Marlin Model 90
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:13 pm 
Utility Grade

New to Shotgun World although have used the resources on this site before. I have a question about a Marlin model 90 that I inherited a few years ago. Originally I looked this gun up in a gun value book and estimated the value around $100. So I figured I'll use it as a project gun since I would like to get into restoration\gunsmithing. This morning I did some more digging and found out that it is most likley a pre 1947 since it has the seperated barrels. Some of these guns in a little better condition are going for $350-$500. I dont want to kill the value so now I am questioning wheather or not I want to do a restoration on it since it would be my first project. I am a machinist by trade so no problem getting parts, I'll just make them. I would polish up the outside surfaces and also the guts (which are pretty rusted up) and possibly re-blue the barrel. My question is if I did the restoration would it kill the value so much that it wouldnt be worth it? I'm not planning on getting rid of it anytime soon, I kind of want to use it for my upland gun, just want it to look a little nicer. Here are some pics I took today.

Thanks for any input you guys are willing to share. I would really appreciate it.

Eric

Post subject: Re: Marlin Model 90
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:14 pm 
Field Grade

It's all about craftsmanship. But either way you won't be out much. Here's its twin in nice condition for $350:

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewIt ... =148769465

http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/articles.pl#smalser

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:11 pm 
Limited Edition

Farley,