CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Remington Model 58 Disassembly
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:20 pm 
Presentation Grade

A friend just asked me to clean up a 16 gauge Model 58. I've never worked on one before, and it isn't listed in "Shotguns: Part V, my "Bible"; it looks superficially like an 1100.

Does anyone know of any quirks in taking it apart to clean? I assume there's a gas port under the barrel, like the 1100. Any parts that should be looked at closely or replaced? I'm pretty much a novice at this, as you can tell, and I'm doing it just as a favor and for the fun of it. Thanks in advance.

Post subject: Re: Remington Model 58 Disassembly
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:46 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

The 58 trigger group drops out in the same manner as all newer Remington shotguns- remove two through pins and pull out. Removing the trigger group should allow you access to the bolt assy, which you can blow out with Gun Scrubber and relube. CAUTION: 58's are prone to having the shell stop stakes pull loose (870's can do this also), and getting the darned things back in is a serious pain in the rump. You will have to have a 'smith restake them, restake them yourself (the tool is around $25.00), or reinstall unstaked, which works but requires three hands.

The barrel gas ports can easily be cleaned with a drill bit (#47, I think) clamped in a pair of Vise Grips. Unless the gun is not working properly, I'd skip pulling the gas piston assy apart, as it's easy to catapult the piston/spring across the room, and getting the yoke stud back into the piston is a bit of a balancing act.

The 58's guts are an interesting and not-too-complicated study in engineering, and if you are mechanically inclined and patient should present no serious challenges. On the other hand, there's Gun Scrubber....
John

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:04 am 
Presentation Grade