CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:27 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Better way to pluck a goose?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:40 pm 
Crown Grade

I've plucked pheasant and turkey without any problem, but I'm a bit of a noob to plucking geese. I'm only on my third goose but I skinned the first two so I thought I'd pluck the third to see how it went. THREE hours later my basement looked like a fairy wonderland with down floating in the air (and up my nose) and I had my plucked goose.

This is how I did it: I hung the goose in the cellar (45 degrees or less) for 5 days first (we were out of town) so the body was plenty cooled. I had to pluck almost the entire bird one feather at a time to keep from tearing the skin. Then the down came off very easily. I tried to get pin-feathers out, but was so tired and cramped I left a lot in. There has to be a better way! :shock:

Post subject: Re: Better way to pluck a goose?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 9:04 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Scald the bird in boiling water first it helps release the feathers. They also sell wax you can melt and dip the bird into and it peels off just like a Barzilian Bikinni wax. :D

I personally just breast geese myself.

"I dare do all that may become a man; Who dares do more , is none"
Bill S.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:08 pm 
Presentation Grade

I have tried scalding (stinks and doesn't work that well on waterfowl), waxing (messy and not as easy as advertised) and breasting (or filleting the breast). By far, the best way to pick a goose... is to pay someone else to do it! :lol: