CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:32 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Correct Lead?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:48 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi all,

I want to become better at bird hunting - how far should my lead be? I'm guessing Dove will be the thing I will hunt the most next Sept.

-Kevin

Post subject: Re: Correct Lead?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:45 pm 
Crown Grade

i'm kinda new at this stuff too, but have a hunting buddy who's a really good shot. He had me join a skeet league last fall and I've continued shooting skeet a couple of times a week. Any dove shot that looked anything like a skeet shot was ok, and quail/pheasants were greatly improved this year. The shot I have continued to struggle with is the high passing dove shot. My buddy says you need about a school bus of lead on those high, fast crossers. I'm going to the Kansas dove opener with him this coming season and maybe I can get the picture then.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:09 pm 
Field Grade

Lots of people have problems with lead.The mistakes people make is they stop moving the gun.You must follow threw.Sustain the lead and follow threw.On side to side shots I follow the bird pass it and instinct pulls the trigger.I never stop the gun from moving.On over head shots I follow the bird when its over my head I simply blot it out and fire,keeping the gun on the move.Shotgun requires lots of practice and your instinct will get better.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:54 pm 
Crown Grade

A very difficult question to answer. For example, a quail crossing at 20 yards (pretty typical) might need three feet of lead. But, a goose or duck crossing at 40 yards might need 7 or 8 feet of lead. Plus, the 4 feet of lead that I see might be the exact same length as the 6 feet of lead that you see. I thin k that Peter Blakeley wrot a book called "Read the line, Feel the lead." That pretty much sums it up. Lead is really a matter of experience and feel.