CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:14 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Tactical 2-point sling on stock Mossberg 590?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:11 pm 
Utility Grade

I'm wondering if any company makes tactical 2-point slings compatible with the vertical sling attachment points that come factory-installed on the Mossberg 590, or is it necessary to purchase swivel mounts that attach to the side of the barrel and stock? I've been eying the Blue Force Gear Vickers Combat Applications Sling, but it looks like it only attaches to side sling mounts.

If tactical slings only attach to side sling mounts, why is that so? What are the advantages to mounting a sling on the side of the shotgun versus mounting beneath it?

Thanks for the help! I'm new to shooting, and I've learned a lot already just by lurking on this site.

Post subject: Re: Tactical 2-point sling on stock Mossberg 590?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:38 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I'm sure you could mount the vickers vertically if you wish, however you then loose all the advantages of a tactical style sling. Tactical slings are designed to go arround the body while you shoot for 2 reasons.
#1 To keep the gun from being taken from you in the event of a gun grab.
#2 So if your gun malfunctions or runs dry you can transition to a sidearm and not leave your primary laying on the ground without taking time to sling up.

If you don't want to mount your sling on the side, I would suggest just getting a simple carry strap, but it's your gun and your money so do what you want.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:39 pm 
Utility Grade

Well, I went ahead and got a 2-point tactical sling (this Specter Gear sling) and I'll attach it using the side mount plate it comes with. I still can't visualize why attaching to the side versus the bottom of the gun makes any difference, but I guess I'll have to try it out for myself.