CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:37 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: SKB XL 900 Questions
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:54 pm 
Limited Edition

I have purchased a 20 ga XL 900 for my daughter as her first shotgun. It is being shipped to my FFL now. I'm a fan of SKB guns and currently shoot a 505 Deluxe Trap O/U ( with tubeset) as my skeet gun. I bought her the SKB because my research revealed that the XL 900's are lighter weight because of the alloy receiver and soft shooting due to the gas operating system. I have never owned a semi auto, mostly because of the problems I saw other shooters have with Remington 1100's when I started shooting skeet. I have downloaded and read the SKB XL 900 manual from their website, but it lacks information. My questions are as follows:

If I have the fixed choke barrel cut down to 21-23 inches, will it effect the gas operating system ?
I know it will have no choke, but it's OK as a skeet gun. I may have choke tubes installed down the road.

How should I lubricate the gun ?
I'm planning on using Breakfree CLP on the magazine tube and rings and a light grease in the receiver/bolt, but should the gun be shot "wet" ( a little lubricant ) or "dry" (almost none) on the mag tube/rings ?

Most of the rings appear to me metal, but there are a couple plastic ones , Should I replace them with new ones ?
I suspect the originals are still in the gun. Do they break down like the rubber ones in an 1100 ?

Do you think it will function with a light 3/4 oz ( 1150 fps) load ?

Post subject: Re: SKB XL 900 Questions
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:01 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

B 50