CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:18 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New to Shotshell reloading
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 7:22 pm 
Tournament Grade

I asked this question on the general discussion forum yesterday, but haven't recieved any responces yet, thought I'd try my luck again here. What do you guys reccomend as a good comprehensive data manual for shotshell reloading. Been thinking about ordering the one from Lyman, what do you guys reccomend? I'm new to shotshell reloading. My press is a used 12ga. MEC-9000 Hydrolic that came with a 502-100 charge bar and a #30 bushing. So farr, I've loaded about 200 rounds, with Scott-100 powder, and #8 shot. They seem to work well, on skeet/sporting clays in my new 525, wich is about all I've been shooting so farr. I haven't bought any other charge barrs or bushings yet. I do keep Bullseye, Unique, and Tightgroup on hand for use in my pistols.

Post subject: Re: New to Shotshell reloading
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 8:25 pm 
Presentation Grade

Y'know what, JD? I think all of the "comprehensive" shotshell loading manuals are in dire need of updating. I think you're better off with the free powder manufacturer's manuals, or from their internet sites. "Reloading for Shotgunners, 4th edition" would be my choice in the comprehensive category.

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 8:56 pm 
Reloading Expert
Reloading Expert

The Lyman Shotshell Reloading Handbook, 4th edition, is about the most comprehensive one around. It will help you to identify cases and wads and, of course, give you load data. As McKie said, though, this manual is in serious need of updating. Still, it does have a lot of necessary information for new shotshell handloaders.