CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 7:04 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Mossberg 500 Roadblocker... Muzzle brake removable??
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 12:48 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi I'm pretty new to guns and shotguns and I was wondering if the muzzle brake on the 500 Road Blocker is removable? And if so how do you get it off.

Post subject: Re: Mossberg 500 Roadblocker... Muzzle brake removable??
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 11:19 pm 
Presentation Grade

If you don't already own one, the best choice might be to avoid the issue all together by purchasing a more conventional Mossberg 500. The Road Blocker is not an especially practical gun and the muzzle break on it is not very functional. If you do a search on it, there is another thread about that gun somewhere.

I haven't seen one up close so I am afraid I can't answer your original question but at least this bumps your post up.

Welcome. If you're new to guns (or even if your not) you will find lots of good info here.

RJM

edited for spelling

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:23 pm 
Tournament Grade

From the looks of it, it appears to be screwed then pinned on attachment. If the barrel is 18.5" with the attachment then it's best to try and sell the barrel and just purchase a home security barrel (plain) as they are called.

The brake has ports in it which dont count towards the full length of the barrel, only the muzzle end. So it's not slipped on or anything. And if you somehow unpin it and remove it, then it's a short barreled shotgun once the new muzzle is less than 18" and you better have the ATF approved stamp to go with it. In other words, it ain't worth trying to remove.

Best and easiest option is to buy a security barrel which are cheap and plentiful and put yours up for sale if you already own it.

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:36 pm 
Diamond Grade

Call this number (615) 896-2938 and they'll tell you the best way to deal with that brake.