CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:12 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: buckshot loads
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:28 pm 
Field Grade

Well i have been fooling with buckshot loads for about 2 months now and i finally got it going my way. I have 8 differant recipes and after pressure testing,velocity testing and pattern testing i have ended up with 8 good loads.some shoot well in remington some shoot well in benelli and some shoot well in browning. My pressures are between 8500 and 10300, velocity is between 1096 and 1295 fps. What seems to do best in patterns,velocities and lower pressures are using a mylar wrap and not wads. The one wad that does good is a LBC wad. I am using longshot,blue dot and steel powder.I am using only federal hulls and primers and prcision buffer. some are rolled crimp and some are 6 pt fold crimp. My patterns at 40 yards are between 22" and 10" in circumferance. the slower the burn rate on powder the less define the mountain curve is on display on lap top. it goes from a mountain to a knoll.there are 3 differant size 00 buck ranging from .315 to .350 and weight from 45 to 55 grains for each pellet and all of these are listed as 00 buckshot. it all depends who you get it from. my next project is 000 buckshot.

Post subject: Re: buckshot loads
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:24 pm 
Crown Grade