CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: WAA 12SL & WAA 12L & WAA12
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:48 am 
Field Grade

I know you should not substitute components...but I would like to hear some opinions on The WAA 12 and their clones. If you have a recipe that calls for the longer shot cup and shorter cushion SL would substituting the L with its shorter shot cup and longer cushion have any significant pressure change say 500 lbs or so.I ask this because I seem to get a better crimp with the L wad even though the recipe calls for a SL

Also I don't have any WAA12 to compare to the SL and L so which one is that or is a old model that either the SL or L replaced ?

Post subject: Re: WAA 12SL & WAA 12L & WAA12
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:05 am 
Field Grade

Im New to reloading my self But from what i have come to gather so far is that the waa12 is for 1 1/8oz loads the waa12sl is for 1oz loads an the waa12l is for 7/8oz an 3/4oz loads. I could be wrong about this but some of the more experieced folks will be by shortly to help u out.

Cody

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:04 pm 
Shotgun Expert
Shotgun Expert

So long as the stack-up is correct, and everything fits reasonably well, there's nothing wrong with subbing these wads with one another. Many find that the stack-up is too tall when using the WAA12L wad in 7/8 oz. loads in AA HS cases, and so use the WAA12SL wad instead. Likewise have the same problem with the WAA12SL wad with 1 oz. loads in the HS cases, and so use the WAA12 wad.