CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:33 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Goose calls....flute or short reed?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:20 pm 
Tournament Grade

I have been experimenting with goose calls and have decided that I want a flute style call for Canadas. I purchased a Big River Long Honker flute call. I tried some short reeds and had a hard time with them. I tried the Haydels Magnum Honker and it was OK, but I didn't like the tones so much. I couldn't get the Knight and Halt Pit Boss to break consistently. I am a beginner goose caller, but a pretty good duck caller, and the flutes seemed to appeal to me more.

Where I hunt is a large tidal pond surrounded by hills and levees. My biggest concern is avoiding echo from the call. However, flocks are sometimes very far off and a loud greeting will get their attention. The range available in the Big River seemed to suit my situation, but I have yet to actually try it on geese.

What do you goose hunters use and why? I originally wanted the Sean Mann Shorty Express, but in addition to not having the funds for it, I tried my friends and it seemed to be only loud. I couldn't seem to coax low tones out of it.

Thanks in advance for advice and opinions and good hunting to all.

bux-n-dux

1984 1100 Magnum
1972 JC Higgins Model 20

Post subject: Re: Goose calls....flute or short reed?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:46 pm 
Tournament Grade

Try this site. www.djcalls.com They are producing the old Olt calls. The goose calls can be blowned loud for long range attention getters and soft when they get in close. I like the sound of a wooden call much better than a poly or plastic call. They are moderately priced and will last a long time.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:51 pm 
Presentation Grade

I agree with what Sparkie said on the Wooden Olts.