CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Best gun o/u for Clays/hunting
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:25 pm 
Utility Grade

I am pretty new to shotgunning and I have a decent pump shotgun. I am pretty good at shooting clays and I want a gun that will help me to improve and give me a little more motivation to keep clay shooting. I don't have a lot of money so I want a gun that I can use to hunt pheasants with too. I really want an o/u because they look great and are very classic. I know that some people swear by these $3,000+ guns but I just don't have the money for it. Is there a gun that is less than $1000 that I won't be disappointed in? Also What gauge should I get for clays and pheasant hunting. I usually shoot trap but i am trying to get into skeet and maybe sporting clays. I am also o.k. with a semi-auto.

Post subject: Re: Best gun o/u for Clays/hunting
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:21 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

This is an impossibility. All the hunters complain about the weight of the gun so, it has to be as light as possible. All the clay shooters complain about the recoil so, it has to be as heavy as possible. Unless you find an old lady who's husband died 20 years ago and is cleaning out the closet, you won't find an O/U that will stand up to regular clays use for less than $1K.

Let me sum up; you want an O/U that is both light and heavy, has good pointing characteristics and balance, will stand up to thousands of rounds a year and costs less than $1k. Did I miss anything?

There are used Citori hunting guns in your price range, but they will beat you up at the range. Now, if you're willing to man up and carry an 8.5lb gun into the field, you will find many guns that will work for you, but you'll still pay at least $1K for a good one.