CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Rifled or smooth barrel?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:42 am 
Field Grade

I am going to purchase a Remington 870 with a 18.5 inch barrel. Do they come in rifled and smooth barrels?

Which would be better for shooting slugs at a shooting range?

Am I correct that a rifles barrel cannot shoot rifled slugs? Does a smooth barrel need rifled slugs?

I am pretty knowledgeable when it come to rifles but I am new to shotguns and would appreciate the help.

Post subject: Re: Rifled or smooth barrel?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:49 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

A rifled barrel uses sabot slugs. A smoothbore barrel uses rifled slugs. You're not the first person who's been confused... :D

A rifled barrel with the appropriate slugs will usually be more accurate than a smoothbore setup, especially as the range increases. The disadvantage of a rifled barrel is that it produces terrible patterns with birdshot or buckshot -- the shot charge spins, creating a doughnut-shaped pattern with a huge central hole.

http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/bot46.htm

http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/bot43.htm

Also check the slug shooter's forum here: viewforum.php?f=118

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:48 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

My experience is that at 50 yards or less, both rifled slugs and sabot slugs shoot close enough that its doesn't matter. From 75-100 yards the sabot out shoots the rifled slug all day.

I use an 870 with either a rifled barrel with a red dot or a smooth bore with iron sights. Love them both and often switch back and forth depending on where I am hunting. Both kick like a mule but that only matters on the range, in the field I never notice recoil.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:44 pm 

NHrural wrote: