CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:45 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: #7.5 or #8? I don't know!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:32 pm 
Utility Grade

I'm new to buying shotgun ammo, and was wondering if someone would explain to me what the difference is between "#7.5" and "#8" Target Load shells. I've looked all over the internet and I read something that lead me to believe that it was the amout of pellets inside the shell (or something like that), but that still doesnt help that much, considering I don't know what the amout of pellets have to do with the way the shell fires. I appreciate the help.

Post subject: Re: #7.5 or #8? I don't know!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:02 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

It refers to the size of the shot....the magic number is 17. A size #6 shot is .110".....#5 is .120".....#8 is .090......# 7.5 is .095....#1 is .160.......a .170 pellet would be a "B" shot and .180 would be "BB".............lots more #8s in an ounce than #4s....but much smaller and with much less energy at a given speed.....get yourself a lyman shotshell handbook to continue the experience of learning about this great hobby of ours.....

#7.5 shot in your target ammo will have a bit more energy per pellet for breaking targets a bit farther off whereas the slightly greater number of #8s fill up the pattern a bit more.... generally folks use #9s for Skeet but #8s work okay.....Lots of folks use #7.5s for trap especially for handicap (longer) distances....although #8s work fine for 16yard targets.....all of the target ranges I have been to limit shotsize to #7.5 being the largest allowed.........Art

Last edited by lizardbreath on Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:08 pm 
Limited Edition