CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:59 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Merkel Shotgun 147 EL
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 7:22 pm 
Tournament Grade

I've always admired the merkel sxs shotgun and now I'm older and I'd like to have one, but I don't want to pay more than I should. I've been looking for a sxs for vintage shooting as well as some upland bird hunting a few times a year. This past weekend I handled a couple of very nice Merkel 147 EL 12 ga. shotguns in a shop in Connecticut. The gun I liked was a straight stock, double trigger, 12 gauge, nice wood stock (fancy), 28" barrels and overall very nice condition. Owner says it's 6-7 years old. The asking price is $3,800. Is that a good price for that model and condition? I'm a novice when it comes to Merkel so any advice is welcome. Thanks very much.

John

Post subject: Re: Merkel Shotgun 147 EL
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:56 am 
Utility Grade

The Merkels are IMHO the best SXS on the market at that price point. I just bought a 20gauge 147E for 3500.00 that was ANIB. If you shop carefully you can find them new for $4000.00. Cabelas in Scarborough Maine has a very nice one that is new for $3999.00. The listing says it is choked full and full but I have been told that it is IC and MOD. It has a single trigger. I think they also have a used Merkel 47E in 12 Gauge in stock for much less.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:59 pm 
Limited Edition

Quote:
The Merkels are IMHO the best SXS on the market at that price point.

I disagree....the same gun as a Simson for 1/2 the price is a much better deal. If you buy the Merkel for $3500, its worth $2800 tops next year as a resale. Buy the Simson at $1500-1700, you get near what you paid for it next year...and from 3 feet away, no one will know the difference. Buy 2 Simsons and keep the change. :D

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:03 pm 
Utility Grade