CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:56 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Thos Spencer double barrel shotgun questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:29 pm 
Utility Grade

This is my first time here so please bare with me. I have a Thos Spencer double barrel shotgun that I want info on. Here is what I know:
Thos Spencer, stamped (ELG in an oval or egg) no crown above, letters JL stamped on barrels, receiver, and on the forearm plate, 18.2 on one barrel and 17.8 on the other, 7376 stamped on reciever. Demascus barrels.

I think that the ELG indicated built in Belgium not having a crown above it means it is pre 1893.

JL I believe is the maker Jonlet H and Louet M

Can anyone confirm this and offer any more details?

Post subject: Re: Thos Spencer double barrel shotgun questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:05 pm 
Crown Grade