CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:08 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Remington RXP Hulls
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 5:09 pm 
Field Grade

Hi Folks:

I am relatively new here, and have had great experiences with this forum thus far. I am also somewhat new to shotgun shell reloading. I have MEC 600jr. loaders for 12 and 16 ga.

My question is this.... I have read here that data/recipes for Remington STS, Gun Club, and black Game Loads are basically the same. I have a large quantity of older (early 1980's) RXP 12 ga. hulls. These are in excellent shape, and I hate to throw them out. Would the same data apply as for the other, more current hulls?

Any information on this would be quite appreciated. I am reloading lower pressure target loads (1oz., mid 5000's PSI), primarily for older double barrel guns.

Thanks,

Jeff

Beretta Silver Hawk 12
LC Smith 16
Remington Model 1889 12
Remington 870 Wingmaster 12
Remington 870 Wingmaster 20

Post subject: Re: Remington RXP Hulls
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 5:50 pm 
Diamond Grade

Slightly less capacity than STS, Premier, AAs. I loaded them the same as the AAs I was loading. RXP12 made a better fit than AA12 wads. In fact, before dedicated 1 ounce target load wads were available the AA12 wad in the RXP made for about the best combo for one ounce target loads. Suspect TGT12s and Figure 8 will be a tight fit.

Dunno a thing about low pressure loads.

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 8:17 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

You won't find any recipes in 1 oz light loads in the old RXP hull. Light loads were not available back in those days. I have many older reloading books from the time and the only 1 oz loads are high velocity. They are excellent hulls. But they definitely have less capacity than the STS etc. hulls. I don't know if the "all Remington hulls load the same applies to them." But I just use the old 1970's-1980 data.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 2:09 pm