CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 6:57 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: used Remington 1100s
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 3:45 pm 
Field Grade

With the 1100 so long in production, used models are readily available at lower costs than buying new. I'm new to semi-auto shotguns, but I have no qualms about sending my 1911 to this particular gunsmith, my rifles to another, and my old S&W revolvers to another. So it would seem logical that a Remington 1100 would be a "safe buy" because parts were plentiful and they're common enough that you could find a smith to work on one.

Is this thinking true? Or can a used 1100 be worn out to the point that it would be less trouble to buy new?

Post subject: Re: used Remington 1100s
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:12 pm 
Tournament Grade

You can get a very good used 1100 but I have noticed on a good one you still pay around 6 or 7 hundred. And if you buy online you have to add shipping and the FFL fee.

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:13 pm 
Crown Grade

I wouldn't buy a new 1100. If you're buying new, there are many better guns.

I had an 1100 that I bought used.

I'm sure one can be shot-out, but if the gun ends up costing you more than you wanted it to, that's probably not why. You can probably tell if a gun is THAT beat -- and as you said, there are lots of them out there, so you don't have to buy one unless it's in really good shape.

The pitfalls of a used 1100 are these. Mine had a cut-down stock, and I wanted to return it to full length. So I had to buy another one. A used one wasn't too expensive but it added to the total price. But a lot of the older guns have fixed-choke barrels that won't safely shoot steel shot. If you want to shoot target and bird loads, as well as 3" steel waterfowl loads, you'll need, or at least want, two barrels. A barrel isn't free.

If you really want an 1100, get a used one. I can't see paying $700 for one, though. Not even close.