CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:20 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hodgdon Titewad in 20 ga
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:37 am 
Utility Grade

Has anyone tryed or have any idea if Titewad can be used in a 20 ga. I would like to cut back on the number of powders and also the price. By not having more then one on the shelf. This also keeps down mistakes in powder mixing. I am new to reloading and have been reading as much as I can find on shotshell reloading. The more I read the more confused I become. I have two reloaders one for 12 and one for 20 ga. I have fallen in love with skeet shooting and have a limited budget as most working class and shot 12 and 20 ga. So the problum is as I see it is to keep it simple and cheep.

Barry K.

Post subject: Re: Hodgdon Titewad in 20 ga
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:49 am 
Crown Grade

NO !!! NO !!! NO !!!

Titewad is a VERY fast powder, and should never, ever be considered for anything other than 12 ga target loads.

If you want to load 20's, something with a burn rate comparable to International Clays is the FASTEST powder you should consider, and that's for light target loads. For higher velocities or shot charges over 7/8 oz, you need to consider Universal Clays or Longshot.

If you want to keep it simple, use Clays for the 12 ga and Universal Clays for the 20; you'll have the greatest flexibility in terms of shot charge and velocity. Then you have only two powders.

You could get by with only one powder if you loaded everything with International Clays, but you'd sacrifice some flexibility in load choices. Go to Hodgdon's website, download the reloading data, and spend some time looking through the 12 and 20 gauge sections.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:07 am 
Reloading Expert
Reloading Expert