CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 9:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is the traditional 12 ga "pheasant load" the best?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:19 pm 
Field Grade

I mean the 1 1/4 oz, 3 3/4 dram eq., 1330 fps load with size 6, 5, or 4 lead shot. I'm new to pheasant hunting, so haven't formed any strong opinions yet -- just trying to understand if there is a good ballistic (not just marketing/psychological) reason why this load has been the standard in North America for so many years. To remain popular it must have worked well for a lot of people, but is there any real advantage of the high velocity compared to 1 1/4 oz loads around 1200-1250 fps, particularly with #4-5 shot that should have more than enough pheasant killing power at any reasonable velocity and shooting distance? Some people seem to think it's easier to hit with the higher velocity. However, if I am interpreting the ballistic tables in the Lyman 5th edition correctly, it looks like the difference in correct leads between the standard-velocity and high-velocity loads is no more than a few inches on a crossing pheasant at 40 yards, which doesn't seem like enough to matter to most hunters most of the time. Please educate me!

Post subject: Re: Is the traditional 12 ga "pheasant load" the best?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:17 pm 
Shotgun Expert
Shotgun Expert

There isn't any such thing as the "best" of course. It wouldn't be the best for anyone if it patterned poorly. The "1330 fps" on the box may well vary 75 fps and is not likely what you are likely getting out of your gun. Downrange, a slower #4 shot or #5 shot load may hit your bird with more velocity than a "faster" #6 shot load, so muzzle velocities don't matter as much as actual impact velocities.