CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Very Old Single Barrel Bolt Action Shotgun.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:42 am 
Utility Grade

Hi all

Im new to this fourm but have a question on a single barrel shottie i have just brought.

It is fairly old , and in very worn condition , the barrel is about stuffed , however i cant ID it! It has the markings of the manufacture on it , but it is so worn it is hard to make out!

It apears that it says ******* and Co ltd ( cant make this bit out ) on the barrel , along with 12-70 indicating the gauge etc of the gun. it also says Made in ****** and i cant make that out either! Ive attached a coupple of picks tht im hoping someone will be able to id it for me , and if its worth anything.

I suspect its a hunk of junk , and not worth a penny but before i attack it i would like to knw!

Thanks all for looking look forward to your replys!

Craig.

Post subject: Re: Very Old Single Barrel Bolt Action Shotgun.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:49 am 
Utility Grade

I all im trying to add a photo but somehow i not sure how too??? anyone help?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:18 am 
Presentation Grade

There may be other ways but the only way I could post pics on this site is to use photobucket as a host. Download your pics to photobucket. Then hold the cursor over the image you want and a drop down menu will appear. Click on the IMG prompt and it will say copied. Then paste in your post here.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:07 am 
Crown Grade

[along with 12-70 indicating the gauge etc of the gun.]

The fact that the chamber length is marked metrically (70mm), ILO decimally (2-3/4") would seem to indicate European manufacture/proof.

I would recommend inspecting the metal areas hidden by the wooden stock for prookmarks which shouldn't be worn off, and which might help determine it's origin further.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:59 pm 
Utility Grade